AshEdit—News About Books & Writers

July 7, 2017

Book Distribution News

Baker and taylorI was thrilled to hear that a librarian in the the great state of New Jersey had already ordered Bestseller Metrics: How to Win the Novel Writing Game. But when I hopped over to Amazon, the sale was not showing. Neither was it showing on Create Space, where this workbook-sized paperback is published. I admit, dark thoughts of piracy and theft bubbled in my mind, but caution prevailed.

I called the helpful-and-instantly-available support staff at Create Space and ran my story past them. It was explained that when the book was published, I had chosen “Expanded Distribution,” qualifying Bestseller Metrics to be listed with distribution giants Baker and Taylor, Ingram, and Barnes and Noble. How about that, huh?Print

There is one caveat to this fantastic perk, however; royalties are tabulated 30 days after Barnesthe production of the book, unlike a sale on Amazon or Create Space, which shows within hours.

Mystery solved with a happy ending.

2 Comments »

  1. If you are eligible for “Expanded” Distribution”, which you evidently are, great! Good luck with your book!

    Comment by Oscar Case — July 7, 2017 @ 1:54 pm

  2. I can’t get into my wp acct to validate comment but here it was.

    Good news, Elaine. Here’s another Amazon/createspace story.

    I got repeated emails from Amazon Advantage telling me to confirm my orders. Amazon Advantage? What’s that? It’s the vendor’s side of Amazon. When I got repeated emails from Amazon Advantage to do something about my orders I wondered what now. I’m not selling anything but books.

    After they’d been hounding me for about a week I waded into Amazon Advantage to straighten it out. I’m condensing about nine phone calls here. Yes, I did self-publish with createspace, an Amazon entity, but they have no relationship with Amazon Advantage and they didn’t have a phone number to communicate with them. Really?

    I’m told to call back Amazon Advantage. The run around appeared before me.

    However, I had one bit of leverage. An unhappy review with createspace. At 6 a.m. this morning a nice fellow from South Africa called to say these orders represented a good thing. They wanted to stock more of my book Rip-Off. It was 3 pm in South Africa. All’s well it seems.

    I just now received a notice from Amazon saying my order is on its way. What order? I shouldn’t have clicked on it without noting it wasn’t an official Amazon address. Now what’s going to happen?

    They’re a behemoth that runs us all, but usually there’s a happy ending for writers. Well, at least till now.

    Pleased your book is doing well.

    Comment by marpreston — July 7, 2017 @ 2:46 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

